The Rise of Superheroes & Their Impact On Pop Culture

A professor of mine, Sharon Cogdill, recently forwarded me this great opportunity.

Through the site Edx.org I can take online courses for free. As someone who loves to learn this was an amazing opportunity, especially since I will be graduating soon. Yet, what immediately drew me to Edx.org was the available course, The Rise of Superheroes and Their Impact on Pop Culture. As someone who as done and wants to continue researching comic books, and writes a blog that includes critiquing comic books, I thought taking this course would expand my knowledge. This would be too good to pass up.

As part of this course, we are not only guided through the history of comic book, but are given the chance to expand our personal knowledge of comic books. Like a normal course, every week’s lesson ends in a written assignment of about 500 words.

So for the next few weeks, I thought that I would share with you the research that I have been doing throughout the Edx.org online course.

(links will be coming)

Week 1: Medusa & the Castration Theory

Week 2: Gail Simone: A Short Biography

Week 3: Black Widow

Week 4: Mystique

Week 5 & 6: Black Widow: Personal Freedom

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment